Dear Toursies,

I had the great privilege and experience of seeing Newsies (on Tour) in Toronto last summer (2015). I have been a fan of musical theatre for as long as I can remember. I always loved Disney movies growing up and movie musicals, I saw Les Miserables live in Toronto, I saw Wicked live on the West End, but I can safely say that Newsies is the show that changed my life. My obsession with Newsies began before I saw the show live. It began with the movie and I fell in love with the music and the dancing. (I’ll admit, I only watched the movie because I knew it was a musical on Broadway but after watching it I became OBSESSED). I did some research into the movie and musical and downloaded the Cast Album and watched a lot of behind the scenes videos. A few months later I was given a dance project for my choreography class  to choreograph a dance inspired by a choreographer and I immediately thought of Newsies and Christopher Gattelli (particularly this video, which inspired me so much). So I choreographed a dance (obviously adding my own style) to Seize the Day for a group of 12 year olds, which was a lot of fun. Chris Gattelli’s choreography of the show will never fail to amaze me. Then I found out Newsies was coming to Toronto that summer and I decided I had to see the show! My mom got stellar tickets close to the front of the orchestra level and I was absolutely mesmerized for the whole 2.5 hour show! The story was so touching and fun, the music was beautiful (I had the cast album on repeat for days after the show), and the dancing blew my mind! The dancing was the big reason I fell in love with the show because it reminded me that I am passionate about dance and that I to keep dancing, even it it means I do it recreationally during school and why give up something you love? So thank you, thank you, thank you, for putting on such an amazing show and re-inspiring my love of dance and musical theatre.

To Dan DeLuca: Thank you for being such an amazing Jack Kelly! I know you had a lot to live up to following Jeremy Jordan and Corey Cott in the Broadway show and I say you did live up to the two of them (even thought I never saw the show in NYC). I loved your voice and the way you portrayed Jack was so true and down to earth, which was a joy to watch.

To Zachary Sayle: You were a fantastic Crutchie! I loved the emotion and youthfulness you brought to the role. Letter From the Refuge was gorgeous! I’m so glad they added that song to the touring production and you just killed it.

To Stephanie Styles: You may have been one of the only females in the show but you absolutely rocked it! I love Katherine since she’s just such a strong female character. I love the spunk and sass you brought to stage and thank you for reminding me that women can do anything they want and we can make a difference using our talents.

To Josh Burrage: Thank you for bringing so much kindness, sparkle, energy to your role as JoJo/Darcy and as Josh Burrage every day! You are so kind to the fansies at stage door every night and you’re kind to everyone through your social media interactions (it really is appreciated). Your smile and dancing light up whatever space you are in. You are an amazing dancer and all around performer and I’m so glad I got to see you in your element. Thank you for just being you and just being you and having a blast on stage because when the performers are having fun, the audience is having fun.

To DeMarius Copes: You were such a pleasure to watch on stage! Thank you for bringing your funny, energetic personality to your performance. Your dancing and singing and acting were all outstanding and you’re just a lot of fun to watch! Break a leg in Prom the Musical!

To Ben Cook: Thank you, thank you, thank you for inspiring me to keep dancing. You are such a talented dancer and performer, I had a hard time keeping my eyes off of you during the show. You’re the same age as me and I think everything you’ve done in the theatre community at such a young age is amazing and I truly look up your talent, drive, and ambition to be able to do that. I’m so sad I didn’t get to see you in Tuck Everlasting because it closed so soon but I’m sure you were amazing but I love the soundtrack so congratulations on that!

To the rest of the cast: I would do one of these individually but there are so many of you! You are all so talented! Your dancing blows my mind, your harmonies are beautiful, and your acting is amazing! I truly admire you for being able to do this show 8 times a week. I want to be able to sing, dance, and act all at the same time as well as you all can someday.

As you wrap up your tour, just know that you have touched the lives of hundreds of thousands of people who came to see this show across North America, not just me. It’s a truly amazing show and you should all be proud to be a part of it. It was a great joy for me to come and watch it live and I can’t wait for the movie! I hope that I will get to meet you all someday and that Newsies gets a Broadway revival soon and that you’ll all be in it! Always remember to seize the day and that you’re the king of not only New York but all of North America! All the best in your future endeavours!

Love from,
Delaney Rombough

2 thoughts on “Dear Toursies,

  1. mphadventuregirl says:

    Another Newsies fan. I first become a fan of Newsies a couple of weeks ago when I saw it in Charlotte with my family. Ever since, the songs have become addicting and the show has proven to be meaningful. I am waiting to own the original broadway cast and while waiting, listening to the songs through YouTube. The mind-blowing dance is worth the price of the ticket alone. I love the relationship shown between the Newsies: they are truly like one big family and especially love the special bond between Jack and Crutchie. This is the first musical where I saw where it basically like all males in the cast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

