Movie of the Month: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Hi! So November kind of got away from me but I guess it’s time for November’s Movie of the Month! November always has so many good movies like Dr. Strange, Moana, and, the topic of today’s discussion, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

I am 100% happy with Fantastic Beasts. As an avid Harry Potter fan, I have been looking forward to this movie ever since it was announced and I have to say, this movie was a magical experience. The visual effects in this movie were absolutely stunning. I felt completely immersed in this world that JK Rowling created. It was better, visually, than the last few Harry Potters (and I know that it’s because movie technology has obviously gotten a lot better since 2011 when Deathly Hallows Part 2 came out) and I loved every minute of it. The CGI of the magical creatures was so beautiful and I really felt like the beauty of these creatures could exist in the real world. Everything was just so intricate and detailed and that really drew me into the movie. By the end of the movie, I was just like “I want to love and protect these precious creatures.”

Secondly, let’s discuss Eddie Redmayne’s performance. I must admit, I’m a little biased towards Eddie’s performance because I already love him but his performance in this movie made me love him even more. His childlike features and character and overwhelming kindness that I’ve seen in interviews really made him the perfect person to play Newt Scamander. Newt’s character is also a little awkward and childish and so so caring. I could tell just by watching the movie Eddie approached this role with great care and a lot of heart. He tells this story wonderfully. He made me laugh and he made me cry. I don’t know that I could picture a better Newt. But then again, casting has always been a strength for JK Rowling, David Yates and everyone who has been involved in the Harry Potter universe and the rest of the cast was also brilliant and I can’t wait to see what they will bring to the next 4 movies.

Finally, I just want to touch on the actual story of the movie. I really really enjoyed the story. It was so simple – wild magical creatures get loose in New York and then you have to find them – but there was also so much more to it. There was the whole thing about treating each other (and creatures) nicely and with care, the divide between the wizards and no-majs, the theme of terrorism, outsiders coming together, the choice between right and easy and together these elements told a really great story. In the end, it was another story that fit perfectly into the Harry Potter universe. It was a really good movie with a great cast, great score, great visuals and a great story. 10/10 recommend!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Movie of the Month: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

  1. atthematinee says:

    Ohh it was so good to hear that you loved this 🙂 Have you written about Harry Potter before? I’m also wondering if you have posted your writing on any movie sites in the past? Let me know!

    Samuel

    Like

    • delaneyr10 says:

      Yeah I thought it was a great movie! I’ve never written about Harry Potter before but I have one post about Harry Potter coming in the next few weeks I think. I’ve posted movie reviews on Letterboxd before but I haven’t done one in a while – mostly because I forgot about it lol – but I would love to get back into doing more reviews over there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

