Dear Lin-Manuel Miranda,

What to say to you? You wrote a smash-hit Broadway musical, you’re such a kind and generous human being.

This is a letter to say thank you.

Thank you for creating Hamilton. The world needs Hamilton. The world needs four diverse casts telling this story around the world. The world needs to hear the messages of acceptance and diversity and “immigrants, we get the job done.” Thank you for making the theatre great and cool again.You have renewed people’s faith and interest in the arts, especially among young people, and making people understand how important the arts are. This is a beautiful piece of art that you have created and I hope that one day I will get to be in the room where it happens and see it performed live. The success of Hamilton is a rare thing to happen to a musical but you’ve done it and you’ve done an amazing job.

Thank you for being a light in the world and offering your kindness. You are always so encouraging and kind to people online with your good morning and good night tweets – sometimes those tweets make my day better. You stand up to hate and replace it with messages of love and acceptance and god knows, the world needs more of that. You so humble about your accomplishments even though accomplishing what you have is no small feat, you deserve to brag a little bit! Thank you for sharing your messages of compassion and gratitude and love.

Thank you for inspiring me. You have inspired me in more than one way. You have inspired me to pursue writing as a career. Your writing is so beautiful. I’m studying professional writing and communication at school I always wanted to work on film or television and now I think that I might go in the direction of being a screenwriter or a playwright. If you have any advice for pursuing a career in writing, please let me know! You have inspired me to live my life with positivity and kindness. Life is all about how you react to what life throws at you and you always take things with such poise and grace and openness and even though it’s not always easy, I try to do the same. Your musicals and music have inspired me to try new things (like listening to rap music, something I never thought I’d do). Your work also carries messages, like “I’m not throwing away my shot” and “I am inimitable, I am an original,” that inspire me every day to live life to the fullest and realize that I am full of potential to do great things so just you wait!

Congratulations on all you have accomplished. I can’t wait to see what comes next!

Love from,
Delaney Rombough

Leave a Reply

