Movie of the Month: Newsies Live!

Okay, you’re getting my Movie of the Month a week early for two reasons: (1) The Oscars are next week and that will probably warrant a blog post and (2) I saw Newsies Live! yesterday and it was phenomenal! I started crying the moment I heard the first notes of the Overture. All my babies from the Newsies Tour Cast and original cast members that I never got to see perform live were in it and it just made me so happy. Every Broadway show needs to do what Newsies did – film it professionally and release it as a movie. Honestly my life would be better if every Broadway show did this because I don’t live in NYC but I love Broadway and theatre so so much. Theatre in general just needs to be more accessible to those of use who don’t live in NYC or cities that don’t have a huge theatre scene. And from what I saw in Newsies, this is completely feasible. It was really well filmed but I still got a sense that it was a theatre show and not 100% a movie (and that may or may not have anything to do with the fact that they built an intermission into the movie).

As someone who never got to see the Original Broadway Cast in NYC, it was really fun to be able to see the OBC on the big screen. Jeremy Jordan is so talented like holy crap. The pure, raw, emotion he brought to Santa Fe just made me sob. Also, his voice is another level of amazing and I’m in love. But I have to say I still think I like Dan DeLuca as Jack better than Jeremy just saying. Andrew Keenan-Bolger is probably the cutest human being ever, especially as Crutchie. The adorable, childlike innocence that Andrew brought was just so good and I loved his performance of Letter From the Refuge. Ben Fankhauser was also amazing. I waited 2 hours for “the poor guy’s head is spinning” and it was worth the wait. Kara Lindsay, I don’t even know what to say. She played Katherine with such sass and spunk and I loved every minute of her performance. And obviously it was good to see my Toursies perform again since it was them who changed my life with this show in the first place (see Dear Toursies).

This show was also filmed really well. I was a little nervous for how it would turn out but the cinematography was really pretty and captured the whole essence of the show. I loved the up close and personal shots, especially of Jeremy singing Santa Fe and Something to Believe In. They caught all the right emotional moments and made them so poignant and beautiful. The big dance numbers like King of New York and Seize the Day were also pretty cool. However, I wish they did use more wide shots of these numbers because the ensemble is so large but that’s what makes these numbers so great. The way they filmed the turn sequences was amazing! That would’ve been hard to film but it looked so cool. My favourite moment in the entire show is the key change in Once and For All and the set moves forward. It’s just so powerful and I thought they did a decent job capturing that moment and movement. I said it earlier but I’ll say it again – ALL BROADWAY SHOWS NEED TO BE FILMED PROFESSIONALLY AND PRESERVED LIKE THIS AND MADE AVAILABLE FOR EVERYONE WHO CAN’T GO TO NYC. (and I hope we get to see the filmed footage of Hamilton soon). I really hope we get a DVD or a digital download copy ASAP.

I saw Newsies in August 2015. It spoke to me then and it spoke to me now. This story/show/movie is so relevant. It’s about our generation “demanding a place at the table.” It shows that we’re not too young to change the world and what we say matters. It’s a really good story and I’m glad this amazing show was preserved in this way and allowed me to be inspired by it all over again. So THANK YOU to everyone who made this possible. This show will never not mean the world to me.


 

Have you seen Newsies the movie or live on stage? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

Leave a Reply

