Award Show Season 2017 Part 2: The Oscars

Movies are one of the most impressive forms of art. There’s the visual aspect, the sound/music aspect, the acting aspect, the design aspect – no wonder movie credits have hundreds of names listed! The Oscars celebrates all things cinema and what a night it was! There was some bold statements, there were upsets and controversies, there were beautiful performances, and there were plot twists. There’s no doubt that the Oscars 2017 was a wild ride.

One of the toughest categories this year was Best Original Song. The nominees in this category were:

  • City of Stars (La La Land) – Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul
  • Audition (The Fools Who Dream) (La La Land) – Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul
  • Can’t Stop the Feeling (Trolls) – Justin Timberlake, Max Martin, Johan Schuster
  • How Far I’ll Go (Moana) – Lin-Manuel Miranda
  • The Empty Chair (Jim: The James Foley Story) – J.Ralph and Sting

I have never been so stressed out about a category before in my life. I wanted Lin and Pasek & Paul to win but sadly that can’t happen. And the Oscar goes to…City of Stars! I was happy and sad. I was happy for Hurwitz, Pasek, and Paul because their songs were so beautiful and so deserved to win. But I was sad because Lin didn’t complete his EGOT. But mark my words, Lin-Manuel Miranda will have an EGOT in his life. It just didn’t happen this year. While I agree that Pasek & Paul should’ve won, they should’ve won for Audition (The Fools Who Dream). That song is so beautiful. Audition (The Fools Who Dream) and How Far I’ll Go are better songs that City of Stars, in my opinion. Either way, yay Broadway!

La La Land was nominated for 14 Oscars. It won six – Best Original Song, Best Director, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Original Score, and Best Actress for Emma Stone. This film so deserved to win Best Cinematography and I’m glad it did. This movie was so visually stunning and really well done. I am also really proud of Damien Chazelle for his achievement for Best Director. At only 32 years old, he created an amazing, beautiful piece of art that resonated with so many people. As mentioned before, the music and score in La La Land was beautiful and we have Justin Hurwitz to thank for that. He so deserved to win Best Score. The cinematography and the music were really what made La La Land so appealing and magical so I think those three awards were so well deserved.

At an awards show like the Oscars, there’s bound to be some upsets and surprises. Here’s what some of those were.

  • Fantastic Beasts winning Costume Design – personally I was shocked (happy shocked). I didn’t see that one coming at all. Normally, it’s the super old-fashioned traditional looks that win best costume. This was the first Oscar for the Harry Potter franchise.
  • Zootopia winning Best Animated Feature – the only upset here was that I was upset. I liked Zootopia and I knew it was going to win but I really thought Moana was better. It had a better story and was more enjoyable to watch.
  • Casey Affleck winning Best Actor – to be honest, I thought this category was relatively weak. Denzel Washington should have won. There’s also a lot of controversy around Affleck’s sexual assault and verbal abuse, which is why so many people (including myself) are unhappy with this award.

But I think the biggest (and most obvious) plot twist of all was Moonlight winning Best Picture after it was announced that La La Land won Best Picture. Warren Beatty was handed the wrong envelope and read La La Land but that all changed when halfway though the acceptance speech La La Land producer Jordan Horowitz, interrupted saying Moonlight won and host, Jimmy Kimmel, confirmed it. I am so happy that Moonlight won and La La Land didn’t. La La Land was incredible, but not Best Picture worthy. Moonlight had it all – great cinematography, a great cast, and above all, a great story. Let it be known that a movie with an all black cast about a gay black boy won Best Picture.

All in all I thought it was a good show. Viola Davis’ speech was amazing, Auli’i Cravalho gave a beautiful performance of How Far I’ll Go (She’s the real winner of the 2017 Academy Awards), John Legend’s La La Land performance was so pretty, Jimmy Kimmel did an A+ hosting job, and the acceptance speech for Best Foreign Language Film from Iran (The Salesman) was perfect (*slow claps*). I was also appreciative that there was more diversity than last year’s #OscarsSoWhite. So go watch all these amazing movies and celebrate and revel in the art that is cinema!


What was your favourite Oscars 2017 moment? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

