Movie of the Month: Spiderman Homecoming

Admittedly, I didn’t watch enough movies in July so here I am again writing about a Marvel superhero movie (it’ll be the last one for a while, I promise). First, I just have to say I can’t believe I’m only 19 and I’ve lived through three Spidermans. Since I’ve lived through three Spidermans, I thought I’d do a little compare and contrast of the three different series. Spiderman Homecoming was rebooted a little differently than The Amazing Spiderman with Andrew Garfield. The Amazing Spiderman and the original Spider-Man was definitely more of an origin story whereas we got a brief introduction to Tom Holland’s Spiderman in Captain America: Civil War. Homecoming focuses on Peter Parker (Tom Holland) as he tries to figure out his new powers mostly on his own. He’s ambitious and wants to help people, even though sometimes he gets ahead of himself. When he tries to reach out for help, no one listens because he’s just a kid so he’s on his own for the most part.

As I mentioned before, Homecoming is not an origin story like the other two were. In the first two, we start right at the very beginning with Peter Parker being bitten by a spider. Civil War was our first introduction to Tom Holland’s Spiderman but Tony Stark already knew he had powers when he “discovered” him and decided that he could potentially be an asset to The Avengers. I thought this was good because I really didn’t want to sit through the Spiderman origin story again and I’m glad I didn’t have to. I’m glad they picked up the story what was probably a few months after the getting bit by a spider at Oscorp plot. I liked that the focus was on Peter figuring out his powers, there was a little bit of this in The Amazing Spiderman, and helping the little guy and just “staying on the ground.” I also liked that the villain was not one of Spiderman’s traditional villains like Green Goblin. Because the bad guys in this movie were selling weapons with alien tech, it integrated better into the entirety of the Marvel Cinematic Universe and what may coming in Infinity War.

In terms of Spiderman’s character and personality, Maguire, Garfield, and Holland all brought something new and fresh to the role and of course some of their actual personality seeped through into Peter Parker’s personality. Peter Parker is a nerdy high school kid who goes to Midtown Science and Tech aka nerd school. I know one of the reasons they rebooted Spiderman for the third time with Tom Holland was because the producers and the fans were hellbent on having Peter Parker look like a 15 year old. However, I thought Andrew Garfield was pretty good at playing the role of a high schooler – maybe not 15 but he could’ve been a senior. Tobey Maguire’s Peter Parker/Spiderman was by far the dorkiest of them all. Right down to the haircut and the glasses. He was also the most cautious and awkward when it came to using his powers. It was almost like he didn’t want to have them in the first place. I personally really liked Andrew Garfield’s Peter Parker/Spiderman. He was a cooler dork with better hair and he approached his powers more scientifically, creating his own webs and gadgets. While he was cautious at first about his powers, once he understood them scientifically, he embraced them and really came into his own. He also clearly had the best control of his powers right from the start. Garfield was less awkward than Maguire in almost every aspect of the movie. Because Holland is so much younger than Garfield, he brings what I think is the truest interpretation of a 15 year old science nerd – blowing things up in science class, being on the academic decathlon team, and the dorky t-shirts that say “I lost an electron” “Are you positive?” Hahaha! He was also way more ambitious and eager to use his powers than Maguire or Garfield. You could kind of tell that he’d been mentored by Tony Stark because of his attitude and sass and wanting to show off a bit. Tony’s personality comes through, which I like because it shows that Peter really looks up to the guy and wants to be just like him, even though Tony wants Peter to be better than him. While I like that Stark is mentoring and helping out Peter, I’m really not sure how I feel about the tech-ed out Spiderman suit. I always thought the suit was just about protecting Peter’s identity, not about providing additional powers and support like the Iron Man suit.

Another thing I really liked about Homecoming is that it was way less focused on Peter’s love interest than Spider-Man with Tobey Maguire and his Peter’s relationship with Mary Jane and The Amazing Spiderman with Andrew Garfield and his Peter’s relationship with Gwen Stacy. In Homecoming, Peter obviously had a crush on Liz but getting her to like him was always less important. Multiple times, Peter chose to do Spiderman things over spending time with Liz. Peter was more interested in helping others and using his powers and finding himself rather than finding a girlfriend (which seems kind of backwards for a 15 year old boy). In all three series, there was always the question of whether or not to tell the girl that he’s Spiderman in order to win her heart but also in all three series, the girl finds out accidentally or not at all because Peter decides that keeping his identity a secret is the best way to protect the girls and keep them safe.

Overall, I liked Homecoming. Although I hope this is the last Spiderman reboot for many years (don’t get me wrong, I love Spiderman, but I’m done with origin stories and reboots). I thought this movie (and even the small bit in Civil War) was a great way to bring Spiderman into the Marvel Cinematic Universe (since Marvel now has the rights to Spiderman). I think it will be interesting to see how Spiderman fits in with the rest of The Avengers in Infinity War given that he clearly doesn’t have the experience that the others do.


Who is your favourite Spiderman? Let me know in the comments below!

Also, make sure to follow @peacelovearts on Facebook and Twitter to keep up to date with all my latest content!

Also, on another note, this will be my last #NewBlogPostMonday. Starting next week I will be posting on Thursdays instead of Mondays so I will see you guys on August 10th!

Leave a Reply

